What to do


Tourism attractions include:

  • Anglo-Boer War Monument in front of the town’s Dutch Reformed Church.
  • A cable car built in 1957 by Charles Moss. it was used as a way of entering the mountain kingdom of Lesotho.
  • Eeufeeskloof Dam – Recreation on the water and in the sun on this well-equipped resort west of the town.

Eye of Zastron – A curious formation in the Aasvoëlberge.

Glen Rosa Farm

A cave on the farm features a 5m-high, perfectly-preserved polychrome San Frieze. It is one of the world’s most important pieces of historical artwork.

Hippopotamus Cave

Named for the predominance of hippo drawings in its San art, including evidence of live of the area’s early inhabitants, including pots shards, cooking implements and other relics.

Mayaputi Nature Reserve

Angling bird & game watching, hiking, horseback riding, hunting, river rafting, 4×4 routes.


The 2 072m peak and historic battle site that dominates Zastron’s eastern horizon.


The town and surrounding areas offer a variety of tourism attractions. The well-maintained local golfcourse, dating back more than 100 years, is a nine-hole gem, while the tennis and bowls clubs are delighted to welcome visitors.

Hills surrounding the town are considered well-suited to hiking, walking, horse-riding and bird watching in relative isolation. Blesbok and some Zebra are to be found in the open savanna

Caledon River Museum

The well-known mission stations, Carmel and Bersheba, are situated in the Smithfield district. Their activities are represented in the museum as well as those of leading personalities such as general General Christiaan de Wet (1854-1922),the late P.G. Hoffman, president of the Free State Republic, an 18th century kitchen and the wool washery dating back to 1866 and `Old Grietjie’ , a muzzle-loading ship’s cannon used in most of the wars against the Basotho. The museum is located at 5 Douglas Street and can be contacted on telephone: +27 (0)51 683 1105 and fax+27 (0)51 683 1143.


The Dutch Reformed Church that was built in 1879 by Mr. Wocke, is the oldest north of the Orange River that is still in use.  The organ was imported from England and only 3 of its kind can be found in the country.  The pulpit is also unique and worthwhile seeing and on the grounds of the church many monuments and gravesites dating from the Anglo Boer War can be visited.

Sterkstroom, located between Rouxville and Aliwal North has a spectacular 18m long wall of Bushman rock paintings. Baboon, eland, elephant, hartebeest, monsters, spirit world beings and much more are depicted in the paintings. Look out for the famous rain-animal of the Bushman chief Baartman as well as the smallest known painting of a buck in South Africa. Look also at the Khoe geometric motifs at the far end of the shelter. Visit the waterhole 300 m downstream where the spirit world rain-animal was believed to live.