Profile of Mohokare Municipality

The Mohokare Local Municipal area is situated in the south-eastern Free State and forms part of the Xhariep district municipality. The towns in the Mohokare Municipal area are Zastron, Smithfield and Rouxville. Zastron/Matlakeng serves as the municipal administrative seat within the Mohokare Local Municipality. It is situated approximately 158 km east of Trompsburg and an estimated 181 km southeast of Bloemfontein. Read More...

Interesting Facts


The Mayor

Cllr. Mando (Agnes) Shasha is the Mayor of the Mohokare Local Municipality.  She has been involved in various community organisations including the Mangaung Advice Centre, the Oranje Free State Rural Committee and Rouxville Legal and Community Advice Centre.